WWE Superstars Report: June 10, 2010

Posted: June 10, 2010 in Show Report, Superstars
Tags: ,

Courtesy of wwe.com

Alicia Fox v. Gail KIm

If Primo is “Mr. Thursday Night,” then Gail Kim is the Mrs. I have this conversation every week, so I will spare you this time. Unfortunately for the Divas in the ring, Michael Cole and Jerry Lawler spent the entire time talking about the NXT mugging from this Monday. I guess they were as bored as I was. Anyways, there were some impressive spots in this match, including Gail’s scoop slam and Fox’s tilt-a-whirl backbreaker. Fox wins with a unique scissor kick while Kim was draped over the top rope. These Divas are floating. Excluding those on the injured list (Melina, Beth Phoenix), the only Divas that are ever really pushed are Michelle McCool, Maryse, and to a lesser extent, Kelly Kelly, Eve Torres, and Layla El. The Diva division is mocked more than respected and with such limited resources and too much filler (i.e. The Bella Twins), the WWE isn’t doing much to change that.

Zack Ryder & Primo v. Yoshi Tatsu & Goldust

Wasn’t it a month ago that Zack Ryder was calling Primo out? Now they are buddies? I haven’t had to take the continuity soapbox (patent pending) out lately, but I might have to dust it off. And by the way, where is Titus O’Neil? Well, if I was Ryder, I wouldn’t want him out there either. He might bark like a dog and make nonsensical promos, but I digress. The Golden Yoshi (also patent pending) brought the band back together from ECW and were definitely fan favorites. I don’t have much to say about this match. Ryder and Primo win when Ryder hits the Rough Ryder on Goldust. I gave my thoughts on Tatsu in a recent Superstars report, so be sure to check that out. Ryder will get more exposure from NXT, while Goldust will continue to be the veteran enhancement talent in the WWE. And Primo? He, um, well, he can do a cartwheel.

In case you didn’t see the NXT Invasion, they made sure to show the whole thing and with better camera angles. For my analysis, read my Raw Report from Tuesday.

Luke Gallows (with Serena) v. WWE Intercontinental Champion Kofi Kingston (with Michael McGillicutty)

I was glad to see McGillicutty accompany Kingston to the ring. I am, however, a bit surprised that McGillicutty is not a heel. Only time will tell.

A few weeks ago, I made mention that if the WWE had a “Player of the Week” Award, Christian would have earned for his work. To continue on that thought, if the WWE had a “Most Improved Player” Award, it would go to Gallows. Since his return to WWE television last winter, he has been very impressive. Every week, he seems to step his game up. There isn’t much to say about this match either. Kingston wins with the S.O.S. I like that Kingston has two finishers now that can be executed out of nowhere; it adds an element to his character. I would love to see these two feud over the IC Title in the future.


Leave a Reply

